Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Anyone using gun socks?

Discussion in 'Maintenance & Gunsmithing' started by PiratePast40, Apr 11, 2016.

1. PiratePast40

PiratePast40 Willamette Valley Well-Known Member

I see silicone gun socks advertised on Midway, Cabelas, and other sites and wondering if people are using them and how they like them. Seems like a good way to protect them from dings and scratches from handling.

2. IronMonster

IronMonster Washington Opinionated Member Diamond Supporter

I have been using them for 20+ years. I keep using them so I guess that's as good as indication of what I think as any :D

Dungannon, Ura-Ki, equin68 and 2 others like this.
  3. Joe13

Joe13 NW of Vancouver Opinionated & Blunt Bronze Supporter 2015 Volunteer 2016 Volunteer

I haven't invested to put them on my rifles as I still have enough soft cases and not too many guns to keep in the safe but I like them.

The one I did buy holds my 2 piece fishing rod in an aluminum tube - keeps it from getting banged around and scratched up.

Ura-Ki likes this.
  4. etrain16

etrain16 Oregon Bronze Supporter Bronze Supporter

I haven't, but was already considering one for a new gun I'll have coming soon - I don't want to get scratches on that one. Most of my current guns aren't the kind I worry about getting scratched a bit.

Ura-Ki likes this.
  5. thorborg

thorborg portland oregon Well-Known Member 2015 Volunteer 2016 Volunteer

I use them sporadically, only for non scoped, already charactered toys.

6. ogre

ogre Vancouver, WA Well-Known Member

I have used them for years of my muzzleloaders that are too large to fit in the safe. I am getting tired of safe dings though, on my other firearms. Perhaps I am overdue to buy some more.

Ura-Ki and Sgt Nambu like this.
  7. flashpan

flashpan Beaverton Active Member