JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Well maybe not a tale but how about a tell...

I've been using a Lyman D-7 scale for the last four years and while I believe I had it set up correctly I just do not trust it. When I say do not trust it is an afterthought when I recently came across an RCBS 1010. When I got it set up, adjusted and tested I tried it out with my 223 load in my Lee powder throw that was supposedly set at 23g IMR 3031.... we'll it weren't!!! It was actually 23.4g (if the RCBS1010 is right) ....

So in all of your infinite wisdom, which one do you think is the best, should I keep one as a back up or scrap em both and get another of better quality?

As always, thanks in advance. ;)

26EFF41F-3ED9-4783-84F3-6E503E4A9BAD.jpeg

0BC4C49D-73C1-4E11-9A7F-85707D920219.jpeg

I've been doing a lot of reading on this lately. Interesting you bring it up. I'd say the balance beam is going to be more trustworthy as long as it's clean and properly maintained. Last night I referenced between my Hornady lock and load auto-dispenser scale, Gempro and Ohaus scale. I was glad when the two digital scales were in agreement with each other.

Use check weights or known value bullets to see where a true reading is obtained. On RCBS there is an adjustment wheel leg on one end to zero the scale. By moving the base with the adjustment wheel, it changes the position of the beam in relation to the graduation marks.