JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
somebody out there has probably had the same problem. looking for some ideas on what might be a fix. what I have is a S&W mod 586 8-3/8 bbl.

at the range my light load 38 spcl rounds are dead on :)

my full power 357 mag loads are good for elevation, but bear to the left :(

as far as I can tell I've been using the same grip for both.

I'm new to wheel guns, so maybe I have to learn to hold it a different way? depending on the heat of the load? seems not right.

anybody have an idea?

Reading 'between the lines' I gather you are thinking the both rounds should group similarly? Well this is simply not the case and few guns (especially handguns) will shoot any ammo to the same point of aim. There is a big difference between light .38 Special loads and heavier .357 Mag and the recoil (both real and anticipated) will have a bearing on where your shots ultimately group. Changing your grip or holding differently to 'compensate' is not a good idea as it eliminates consistency and will probably not change anything and will most likely make it worse. The correct thing to do is find a load you like and stick with it and adjust the sights accordingly. If the .38s shoot the way you want stick with them until you have a need for heavier ammo and re-zero accordingly.

Great points. Also, if you want to use lighter, less expensive ammo to practice but still want to carry the full power .357 rounds, zero the gun with the heavy stuff and live with the fact that the .38 is going to shoot a little to the right.

Great points. Also, if you want to use lighter, less expensive ammo to practice but still want to carry the full power .357 rounds, zero the gun with the heavy stuff and live with the fact that the .38 is going to shoot a little to the right.