JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I currently worked up a load that shoots great out of my bolt gun (42 gr. IMR 3031 w/ 168 SMK using federal brass). This load is pretty hot and I am wondering if it is safe to shoot out of a Noveski N6 (AR-10 type).

Also, as I am new to reloading and long range shooting, is 175 gr. SMK or 168 gr. SMK better???

Thank you for your help:)

That load should be fine in your Noveske, it is still a grain below max in most of the manuals I looked at. Watch for pressure signs on your brass.

Most of the people I know using the .308 to shoot long range actually use the 155 grain palma type VLD bullet. However I am still using 168's with fine success.

Be cautious running loads too hot in a semi auto. I roached the bolt carrier group on my Armalite AR-10 with what sounds like a similar charge you are describing. My sons Rem 700 was just fine with the same round.
I shoot 200yds no problem with 168gr Amax. Some of the guys I talk with say the extra grain weight helps with over 300yd shots. I'm not good enough to shoot that long. Too old to see the target that far. Lol

Be cautious running loads too hot in a semi auto. I roached the bolt carrier group on my Armalite AR-10 with what sounds like a similar charge you are describing. My sons Rem 700 was just fine with the same round.
I shoot 200yds no problem with 168gr Amax. Some of the guys I talk with say the extra grain weight helps with over 300yd shots. I'm not good enough to shoot that long. Too old to see the target that far. Lol

Absolutely use caution with high pressure loads in gas operated firearms, regardless of it being an AR platform, M-1, M-1A, or M-14.

Operating rods and bolt carriers take a huge beating and sometimes give up by either bending or breaking.