JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So I'll admit right off the bat that yes, I'm a noob when it comes to hunting big game. I have the delusion that this year I am going to do the hunting thing, and I am looking for advice for a 308 load for shooting elk. I've read good things about the Barnes TSX/TTSX, Hornady, Nosler.... etc...

Let me know if anyone has a recommended for a 308 load that is suited for elk.

Thx.

i would definitely use the barnes TSX. i have personally taken game with these bullets and they are everything they are said to be. i use 165g TSX 42g reloader 15. works great.

Are you asking about handloads or factory ammo? A 165gr. Barnes TSX, Nosler Partition or Hornady SP will all work. 150, 165 and 168 grain bullets are what I use pretty much exclusively. Sometimes a 140 Barnes for whitetail. No matter deer or elk, I don't go under 140gr. or over 168.

I would personally say to do your "hunting thing" with a good factory load. Once you get out there, you may never want to stop hunting. At the same time, you may find that it is not for you and there is no shame in that(yes there is. I'm just being nice).

Good luck and happy hunting! Kip

I would be shooting a 180 grain BTSP if you don't plan on shooting over 3-400 yards. I've killed elk and deer with btsp's and bonded poly tipped high BC bullets that everyone seems to think is manditory to kill and Elk or deer with I've never had an animal make it more than 5 yrds when shot with either

Could these bullet weights be applied to a 30-06 load also? Was thinking about working up a load for blacktail with a 150 gr. TSX and 165 or 168 gr. TSX for elk. Thanks.

Of course they can! Both use .308" bullets.