Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

308 load for elk

Discussion in 'Northwest Hunting' started by KTM530XCW, Jun 9, 2012.

1. KTM530XCW

KTM530XCW Vancouver, WA Well-Known Member

So I'll admit right off the bat that yes, I'm a noob when it comes to hunting big game. I have the delusion that this year I am going to do the hunting thing, and I am looking for advice for a 308 load for shooting elk. I've read good things about the Barnes TSX/TTSX, Hornady, Nosler.... etc...

Let me know if anyone has a recommended for a 308 load that is suited for elk.

Thx.

2. usmc

usmc oregon Active Member

i would definitely use the barnes TSX. i have personally taken game with these bullets and they are everything they are said to be. i use 165g TSX 42g reloader 15. works great.

3. unklekippy

unklekippy In The Mountains Near Sprague River Well-Known Member

Are you asking about handloads or factory ammo? A 165gr. Barnes TSX, Nosler Partition or Hornady SP will all work. 150, 165 and 168 grain bullets are what I use pretty much exclusively. Sometimes a 140 Barnes for whitetail. No matter deer or elk, I don't go under 140gr. or over 168.

I would personally say to do your "hunting thing" with a good factory load. Once you get out there, you may never want to stop hunting. At the same time, you may find that it is not for you and there is no shame in that(yes there is. I'm just being nice).

Good luck and happy hunting! Kip

4. KTM530XCW

KTM530XCW Vancouver, WA Well-Known Member

Hand loads. Does anyone go up to 180g w/ 308?

5. jonn5335

jonn5335 Longview Active Member

I would be shooting a 180 grain BTSP if you don't plan on shooting over 3-400 yards. I've killed elk and deer with btsp's and bonded poly tipped high BC bullets that everyone seems to think is manditory to kill and Elk or deer with I've never had an animal make it more than 5 yrds when shot with either

6. hsullyc