JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm not a noob to guns, but I'm new to the AR platform. I'm going to be getting my first soon and I've been keeping my eyes on ammo prices. Unfortunately, they seem to vary somewhat widely, not something I'm quite used to with other types of ammo.

So, I'm wondering, what's a good price per round for AR ammo. I'm talking about your standard plinking/target ammo - FMJ type like XM193. I've seen prices from a low for Federal Xm193 at around .25 a round (on sale) to over .50 a round for similar, sometimes even the exact same ammo.

What you consider the 'average' for .223/5.56 rounds like this?

Thanks in advance for your wise insight :) I know I'm asking the right folks here.

Bimart has good, honest, prices and always seems to have mucho .223 ammo available. you probably want to stay away from russian steel case because the bullets and primers are sealed with laquer which some people have reported it gums up the action on ar-15 platforms after extended shooting without cleaning. i think bimart is less than .50 cents a round brass case

I've heard that Curt's has good day to day prices on .223/5.56.

I'm seeing a lot of the Federal XM193 out there. Is that decent stuff for bulk ammo?

If you can buy Xm193 for $.25 a round I would be jumping on it. That is a good deal. The range of prices seems to be something like .21-.24 cents for steel case imported stuff and .25-.35 cents for brass cased stuff. And those are good prices. Any time you can get brass cased stuff for less than .30/rd that is a deal.

Personally I would stay away from tula ammo and to a lesser extent wolf. Its not bad to feed your guns a bit of it but it is much harder on your gun than other stuff (I'll post a link to a test showing what I mean)