JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm new to firearms and just recently started my first AR15 build, dubbed "Project Muttley." I am nearly finished with this project, the only parts I need are barrel, hand guard, and buttstock. As I was researching barrels I got the itch to start another project, an AR Pistol in 5.56.

I've read several articles about the rules surrounding AR pistols but I may be more confused now. My question is this: can I build both guns at the same time, or do I have to finish the rifle build before I purchase certain parts for the pistol build? I'm assuming the receivers are all safe to purchase, but can I have a short barrel or pistol buffer tube while my rifle build is in its current state?

What is the best way to go about this?

Sorry if this isn't the correct thread. Please move as appropriate.

My understanding is that you're only likely to raise eyebrows if you had a rifle lower only (lower with a rifle buffer tube on it) and a pistol upper or a pistol and rifle upper. This might make it look like you intended to build an SBR. If you have all or most of the parts for both, then it's pretty obvious what you're doing. I am neither qualified nor inclined to offer legal advice, but you can be sure that I always have an opinion. ;)

I second the advice too store them seperately. Just to be on the safe side, buy the lower and pistol buffer before buying the upper. That way it is clear yu are building a rifle out of one set of parts, and a pistol out of the other set of parts.

To be on the safe side of what? Who is coming and checking?

Either you have a legal use or you don't........... I would not have anything laying around that could ONLY be made into illegal configurations though.