Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

SR 4756 under 230 gr Gold Dots?

Discussion in 'Ammunition & Reloading' started by doubletall, Mar 28, 2012.

1. doubletall

doubletall Tacoma, Wa Member

I have a couple hundred 45 acp 230 gr Gold Dots I'd like to load with SR 4756 but my Speer manual doesn't list the powder and IMR doesn't specifically list Gold Dots. They are plated so I know the charge will be a bit lower than for a jacketed bullet I'm just not sure how low I should start. I've been using 6.5 grains with Hornady XTP with good results in my 1911 and XD. From IMR's data the range for a FMJ is 6.4-7.0 and for a LRN it is 6.3-6.8.

Would I be safe starting at 6.3?

Thanks,

Dave

2. deadshot2

deadshot2 NW Quadrant WA State Well-Known Member

I've been loading the GDHP's in 9mm for several years and just use the "Jacketed" data. Have found no issues whatever. Ther "plating" is stronger than the typical plated bullets that require "lead" data. I push the GDHP's at MAX and have no issues with pressure or barrel fouling. If you start at the low end for the FMJ you should be home free. As usual watch for the development of "issues" as you work up. That GDHP bullet is a great bullet for my money. Accurate as heck form my 9mm's.

3. Blitzkrieg

Blitzkrieg WA Well-Known Member

Yes it's a fine powder.. I use it for shotgun slugs and it has proven to make a very accurate slug load

4. doubletall

Thanks for the replies. I've run a couple of factory boxes through my nightstand gun with no issues but I'd like to put a couple hundred through it to be sure they are reliable. Of course I'm assuming that if my reloads function properly then I shouldn't have any issues with factory rounds.

5. Blitzkrieg

Look into a taper crimp die if you want to add to the round's durability and feed qualities

6. doubletall