JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have a couple hundred 45 acp 230 gr Gold Dots I'd like to load with SR 4756 but my Speer manual doesn't list the powder and IMR doesn't specifically list Gold Dots. They are plated so I know the charge will be a bit lower than for a jacketed bullet I'm just not sure how low I should start. I've been using 6.5 grains with Hornady XTP with good results in my 1911 and XD. From IMR's data the range for a FMJ is 6.4-7.0 and for a LRN it is 6.3-6.8.

Would I be safe starting at 6.3?

Thanks,

Dave

I've been loading the GDHP's in 9mm for several years and just use the "Jacketed" data. Have found no issues whatever. Ther "plating" is stronger than the typical plated bullets that require "lead" data. I push the GDHP's at MAX and have no issues with pressure or barrel fouling. If you start at the low end for the FMJ you should be home free. As usual watch for the development of "issues" as you work up. That GDHP bullet is a great bullet for my money. Accurate as heck form my 9mm's.

Thanks for the replies. I've run a couple of factory boxes through my nightstand gun with no issues but I'd like to put a couple hundred through it to be sure they are reliable. Of course I'm assuming that if my reloads function properly then I shouldn't have any issues with factory rounds.

Went to the range today with 20 rounds; 5 apiece at 6.3, 6.4, 6.5, and 6.6. No signs of pressure and everything cycled good.

Keep in mind this is cool weather (especially if it's an outdoor range), but even an indoor range that is not exactly going to be your car in summer) and that the pressure can rise dramatically when hot.. never load to a cold weather max load unless you live in the arctic