JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have been searching online for this for a LONG time but I haven't been able to find it. I am 20 years old and will be 21 in September. I recently went shooting for my first time and now I have the fever. I am also majoring in law enforcement and would like to get my first handgun before I go into the academy. I am set on the Glock 22.
Basically my question is: Can I purchase a gun face to face from somebody else in Washington? How about somebody from Oregon (even though I'm from Washington?
If so, where is a good place to find somebody looking to do a private sale? The classifieds had some nice G22's but they were all in oregon. Oh and is there any way I could buy ammo at my age?

So if the answer is yes to all my questions, I have one more question. Anybody trying to sell a Glock 22?

Thanks so much for reading all of this!

Technically speaking, you are not allowed to purchase a handgun under the age of 21. This goes for "handgun" ammo, too. Not really sure how they can figure that one out as I have a 9mm rifle...

Anyhow, you are allowed to own a handgun under the age of 21 but it becomes difficult to find someone who will sell you one without seeing ID. Search the classifieds and check out http://www.outdoorstrader.com for more local firearms.

Good luck and I hope you do well in the academy!! We need more gun folks as officers and Sheriffs!

Can I purchase a gun face to face from somebody else in Washington?

Yes, (I'm only addressing the age issue here) person to person sales use State law and Washington state allows you to own a firearm at 18.

RCW 9.41.040
Unlawful possession of firearms — Ownership, possession by certain persons — Penalties.