JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Looking for some help...I have a Yugo SKS M59 that is only "dimpling" the rounds and not firing. I thought it was the bolt and firing pin, so I bought a new complete bolt and installed it...still doing the same thing! Anyway have ideas of what the culprit might be? What I should check next?

I'm thinking maybe a headspace issue, but unsure of how to check that on an SKS.

Other ideas?

thanks.

i'm no expert in sks but maybe a tired hammer spring as import primers are hard

i thinks head space checking is the same as with most others get some gauges and follow instructions

i'm no expert in sks but maybe a tired hammer spring as import primers are hard

i thinks head space checking is the same as with most others get some gauges and follow instructions

Sounds plausible that the hammer spring could be weak, considering he replaced the bolt and no change. If the hammer spring doesn't decompress with enough force, then it conceivably could be strong enough to cause the firing pin to engage, yet weak enough to not hit the primer with enough force for the desired click-bang effect. Try getting spare parts from e-gunparts and replace the hammer spring in the trigger group.

Looking for some help...I have a Yugo SKS M59 that is only "dimpling" the rounds and not firing. I thought it was the bolt and firing pin, so I bought a new complete bolt and installed it...still doing the same thing! Anyway have ideas of what the culprit might be? What I should check next?

I'm thinking maybe a headspace issue, but unsure of how to check that on an SKS.

Other ideas?

thanks.

What ammo did you use? Did you try different ammo?

Unionguy, if you haven't tried Brown Bear ammo, I will sell you a box of 20 rds for $5. That is the only kind I use in my SKS, and I have never had a problem with primer duds.