JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I watched an interesting video on youtube, about shooting double-action revolvers. I know this has been discussed here before, so I thought I'd share it.

I've been shooting double-action revolvers for 35+ years, and the vast majority of that time has been cocking the hammer before each shot. I remember a long time ago being told that I should always shoot double-action when shooting a double action revolver. I didn't like that advice, because I preferred the precision of single-action shooting, and just saw double-action as fast and sloppy, like the early law-enforcement attitude in the video.

A few years ago, I decided it was time to learn some proficiency in double-action. I practiced quite a bit, and got surprisingly good at it. I can regularly bust clay targets on the 25 yard berm with my favorite revolvers. Funny thing is, now it just comes natural and I almost never bother cocking the hammer on my fine S&W revolvers that I'd previously been shooting single-action for decades.

I just thought I'd see how many others have also reached this conclusion.

I've been shooting SW revolvers 40 yrs double action , it's just the way i learn at the police range 1980's ..cuz it was timed and scored ..
no way to cock it ... just not enough time for 30 rounds ...
later switched to 9mm ,.. but alway revolver as BUG ..and i shaved off the hammer on the bug so can't cock it anyway..

I've gotta confess, the only double action revolver I shoot double action is my S&W 642, because it doesn't have a hammer. My short forays into double action with other revolvers have not been very successful accuracy-wise, and I'm too cheap to waste any more ammunition. :s0092:

Sure is nice having the option to do either, it is you own damn fault if you don't make a point to learn how to properly perform both.