JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have a Shooting Chrony F-1 chronograph. My paperwork says I bought it in 2005. Yes, it was the kind of bargain chrono when I bought it; price was about $90 if I remember correctly. So I've been using this device for 16 years, likely have gotten my money's worth by now.

Over the years, I've had what you might call a few accidents. A couple of times I've shot one of the rods that holds the diffuser panels. Being made in Canada, the metal rods are metric sizes, the rod stock bins at Home Depot don't have the exact size so you have to improvise. The last time around, I decided to experiment with wooden dowel. Same issue, metric vs. inch, but a little sanding took the ends down to size. Or you could grind the holes in the plastic receiver holes they go into, I chose not to do the latter. I guess thinking I might actually get the correct replacement parts some day. More about that below.

My latest caper with the Chrony was I blew the end off of the cable. When you set one of these up, you don't want to set the unit up too high or you imperil it with destruction. There is this thing called parallax, that is, the difference between the centerline of the bore and the centerline of the sighting device. They aren't the same, and you might have a nice sight picture while at the same time the bore is much closer in flight over the chrono sensors. If you have a rifle with a scope with high mounts, you can encounter this issue easily. Or the open sights on an AR, for example.