JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have a Bushmaster XM-15 E2 with a 16" barrel and a v notched gas block. I've been thinking about putting a rifle length handguard on it and was wondering how I would go about fitting a front sight. Will the gas block be okay under the heat shield of a longer handguard and will fitting from sights closer to the muzzle effect accuracy. Thanks in advance.

As long as the rail is installed right in essence you can give your self a longer sight radius, good thing. I don't know what a v-notched gasblock is but not all lo-profile blocks will fit under all rails. FWIW- I believe I only currently have 1 AR15 without the gasblock under the handguard

Only thing I can add is make sure you can attach your GB with the rail you're using. I prefer Apex and similiar that clamp to factory nut as they're easy to remove for GB work, etc.

For fitting the front site you need to make sure you get the right one. There are 2 different styles. One stile is for mounting to railed gas blocks and one for mounting to railed handguards. They are different heights so if you have the wrong one you will never be able to get a zero.

The gas block will be just fine under a handguard. Just make sure you get a block that will fit under the handguard you use.