JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have a Washington State friend that will be traveling through Oregon with his handgun.
He has a Washington State CHL.
What are the laws regarding his carrying a handgun (unloaded) in his SUV that has no trunk?
thanks!

Needs to be locked up whether its in a glove box, console, or some other container. The key can't be in the lock. This summarizes the couple relevant portions of the law which is ORS 166.250.

Oregon Firearms Federation | FAQ's. A Gun Owner's Guide In The Beaver State
Hi OFF,
I am a Texas resident and plan to drive to Oregon and Washington this fall. I have a TX CHL which covers me through all of the states I plan to drive through and I have a Washington non-resident CHL so I'll be ok in Washington too. My question is about the proper precautions that I need to take while I am in Oregon. As a "traveler" are there any special provisions that allow me to keep my firearm in my car (if not on my person) while in Oregon? When I cross into the state what should I do with my handgun? And does the same apply to long guns? I have a family member that likes to target shoot and I would not mind bringing one of my rifles along when I visit. Thank you for your help. You have a great site and look forward to hearing back from someone.
Thank you,

Oregon has no prohibition on carrying loaded handguns in your car. But the state DOES allow localities to restrict loaded carry of firearms “in public places” which, oddly enough, includes your car.