JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have never used nickel plated brass before and went to load some 10mm yesterday with new Starline cases and 200gr XTP's. I always load a dummy round when changing components to check for OAL, crimp, and function in my weapon. I went to pull the bullet after checking everything and it wouldn't come out. It finally separated the lead core from the jacket and the jacket is still stuck in the case. I have never had this happen before and am wondering if the nickel brass has more neck tension perhaps? OAL is 1.260 and my crimp is .423 which is exactly the same as my regular brass rounds.
Anyone else ever have this happen? I don't want to load and fire any rounds that are stuck in the case that tight unless I know for sure it's not a problem.

Ron

Here is what happened when I tried to pull the bullets from 2 cases. I have never seen a jacket and core separate like this.

Ron

_87Q0535.jpg

_87Q0532.jpg

_87Q0533.jpg

That's insane! Looks like some alien "stuff" The crimp on your brass looks fine. It doesn't look like it's rolled over and crushing the jacket. I've never seen anything like that:s0131: How many hits did it take to get that separation?!! I'm gonna watch this thread play out to the end! Good luck man! (I have loaded starline brass with 124gr xtp 9mm without issue)

It appears to me that you need to adjust your puller (I'm assuming it's a collet-style puller) to grasp the bullet closer to the case mouth. It seems to be grasping the lead core between the jacketing separations.