JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I've been using for many decades with great results for me, IMR 4350 in .270, 6.5 X 55, .243, 30-06, and 300 Savage I'm sure there are others, but I haven't loaded for them to know. There are others I'm sure but it seems about as universal as one could get for many rifles. Some others I've tried over the years either were dirty, not universal for enough calibers, couldn't find it reliably in my local, or worse, did not dispense well. I can take the soot if i must, but persnickety dispensing is a real deal killer for me.
I don't think IMR 4350 is appropriate for .223 though, but really have not studied it, I am using IMR 4198 for the .223, but likely not the best, mainly because I was using a lot of it for my 45-70's which I sold recently so have a bunch left over.
Then, I found some 4198 recipes for the .223 with 55gr bullets I had in a lyman book which work good, I think, but hard to tell since it's just an OK shooter. ..But its good enough.
Out of a couple hundred on the chart, IMR 4350 is starting to get fairly slow on the burn rate @153,, (Not that many delve into that sort of thing) barely, but different than Hodgdon's H4350 @ 154. Long time ago I've used both with little notice The same deal for IMR4198 but nearly the middle of the chart @ 99 Also not the same as H4198 which is 100.

You need to find someone close to you that reloads to take you under their wing. ;)
We don't need any more head lines. :rolleyes:
Exactly, I've got a good friend that's been reloading for 50 yrs I'm getting everything I need put together but I won't pull a handle done unless he's here to first to tell me everything I did wrong then to coach me the first several sessions

Thanks Jerry