JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So I wanted to see if anyone could shed some light on the mysterious subject of late season elk calls for me. I am a total newb to elk hunting (2nd year) and will be searching the deep dark woods of SW Washington for them and trying to get meat for the freezer. I am not looking for anyone to totally spill the beans and give up all their hard earned secrets but rather a nudge in the right direction.

There is a lot of information on the web in regards to bow hunting and how to call in the heat of the rut. I am curious if cow or other calls can really help or get a reaction post rut?

I am also going to be hunting for the first time in years and am trying to glean information. A friend of mine told me about a little contraption called the Hoochie Mama that he uses for rifle season. Even though it is after the rut, he claims it will at least get a bull's attention. I looked it up on Google, and on Cabela's website there are many other reviews of this product that make similar claims. I am planning to pick one up to see if I have any luck with it. Oh, what the heck, I will post a link for it..............

<broken link removed> :s0155:

Bi-Mart carries the Hoochie Mama and it's a few bucks less than you'll find it at Cabela's or Wholesale Sports. In my experience it may stop a bull that is moving long enough for you to get an accurate shot off, but I have never had any luck getting it to locate or call in a post rut bull.

I was told any cow call is worth a try to get them to pause or stop long enough to get a shot so I carry mine.It will also sometimes get a deer to stop,chirped at on a couple years ago he stopped and looked at me like wow your a funny looking elk,it was the last thing he saw.:s0155: