JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey guys n gals,
I'm new to loading these match type bullets. I kept getting different OACL after seating the 168gr bullets. So I grabbed a handful of bullets and my micrometer. Instantly I found that each bullet was ever so slightly different, measuring from 1.189-1.203. Is this common with the hollow points? I know its best to use a precision mic to measure the ogive rather than OACL, but haven't invested yet. Any input on this would be appreciated!

You didn't say, but I assume 30-cal..?

For a comparison, I grabbed the first 3, 6.5mm Berger hybrid Targets out of an open box.
1.397" - 1.406"
The difference you show isn't visible to the naked eye, so what made you look? Gave you shot them to see if it matters?

Shoot I'm sorry .308 in my M1A. Ive only shot my first load which was not a good group in any way. I caught the difference in OAL after I seated the bullet, its a habit when starting fresh to measure each round. Thanks for checking Darkker. Never had this happen before so I was concerned with bad bullets.
The issue that I am foreseeing is not being able to consistently seat the load one after another.

I have seen the same thing with 168 Custom Competitions. I really don't know if it matters that much but it does bug me. Haven't noticed this problem with SMKs so I will use them from now on. In reality, I really don't think it matters much as you bullet seater isn't seating off the tip of the bullet so the ogive should be in the same spot.

It bugs me too! I'll work the load and see what results I get. Thanks for the input. Still only over a year into reloading so I like to figure this stuff out, and not create bad habits.
Thanks!