JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Can anybody recommend a good county to get a non resident chl. I was supposed to go to grant county tomorow but with the snow at the pass I don't think my car will make it. I would prefer a western Oregon county due to the weather that allows walk ins.

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk

The only county is Grant county in my opinion.

I was turned down (verbally at counter or on phone -never applied to be clear) in SEVERAL (multnomah, hood river, wasco, washington) before getting with Sal @ OFF (Oregon Firearms Federation) and he squared me away with Grant county.

I am a Washington resident with an Oregon CHL now.

I mailed mine in by the way, no need to travel over any pass. CHL arrived in the mail a little over a month after dropping my package off in the mail.

Thanks again Sal @ O.F.F!

Good luck man.

I talked to sheriff palmer he stated I needed to make the trip for the photo and fingerprinting. I'm thinking of driving to Portland then from there heading to canyon city. I really can't afford to have a ccw denial on my record so I'm thinking of just doing that it makes for a 10 hour drive each way.

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk

The photo and printing makes sense, Sal did those things for me. I edited my original post to state that I never filled out an application at the other counties, I was just deferred away by either the counter when I asked or on the phone when I called. Grant County was my first actual application submitted.

I know Columbia and Multnomah will accept non resident applications but neither are walk-in and both require a letter with a "compelling reason". Columbia also requires a WA state CPL.

I've heard Multnomah is alright for nonresidents including a Multnomah County deputy who was teaching an OR CHL class.