JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
I'm new to the AR platform so I'm researching some models and I'm hoping some of the more knowledgeable here would help me out.
I've always been more comfortable with M1 type operating systems so this is a big change. I've pretty much narrowed the choice down and that's where I need your help. I don't have a big budget, but my selections are in my price range. This rifle will be my SHTF rifle if it becomes necessary, so it has to be solid and dependable.
Here's what I've come to and I'd appreciate your input.

Colt 6720
Bushmaster XM15
Armalite Defender
S&W M&P15
Ruger AR556
Savage MSR (MSR Patrol or maybe the MSR Recon)
Springfield Armory Saint

I'm leaning towards the lightweight Colt, but they all seem pretty decent and If I can save some money that would allow more cash for ammo and extra's.

I also need input on quality mags.

Thanks Gents.

I'm new to the AR platform so I'm researching some models and I'm hoping some of the more knowledgeable here would help me out.
I've always been more comfortable with M1 type operating systems so this is a big change. I've pretty much narrowed the choice down and that's where I need your help. I don't have a big budget, but my selections are in my price range. This rifle will be my SHTF rifle if it becomes necessary, so it has to be solid and dependable.
Here's what I've come to and I'd appreciate your input.

Colt 6720
Bushmaster XM15
Armalite Defender
S&W M&P15
Ruger AR556
Savage MSR (MSR Patrol or maybe the MSR Recon)
Springfield Armory Saint

I'm leaning towards the lightweight Colt, but they all seem pretty decent and If I can save some money that would allow more cash for ammo and extra's.

I also need input on quality mags.

Thanks Gents.