JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
This is why I'm so afraid of spending the money on reload equipment I'm not the sharpest tool in the shed but I can see myself blowing myself up because I used the wrong powder LOL SIGNED still not reloading and still alive HEHEH

If you are willing to go slow, a single stage press is pretty foolproof, provided you look at each cartridge throughout the process and stick to the guidelines in published books. I wouldn't be too worried about it so long as you measure what you are doing and double check your work.

I've been reloading on my Rockchucker single-stage press since 1978, and its predecessor since 1965, and last count I not only had all my fingers and thumbs, but both eyeballs.

I never had anything else except a Dillon to crank out thousands of .38Spec - but that had to go when my handguns had to go.

Take your time, and do things in the correct order, use the loading manual but under no circumstances use your imagination, or try a 'I wonder, what if....'

That way lies possible pain and catastrophe, to you or to somebody else.

tac

I've been reloading on my Rockchucker single-stage press since 1978
Yep - about the same for me but I eventually added a Forster CO-AX press to go along with it. In all this time my only 'mistake' was a .38 Special squib from what I believe to be a light powder throw from the measure with 700X which does NOT meter well. Reloading is a procedural and repetitive task and demands attention but is very safe as long as the procedures are followed and things like the correct powder are checked for the specific load and powder levels are double checked before seating bullets! Probably the most common reloading accident is due to a double charge of fast burning powder.