JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Like the title says, I'm moving to southern California (Riverside County) next year and I'm curious to see it'll be alright to bring my firearms. I currently own a 9mm handgun and a 12g HD shotgun. Will I have any problems bringing them to my new residence? I'm sorry if this has been talked about before, I couldn't find anything by searching. Perhaps someone can point me in the right direction. thanks in advance:)

Hmm.. not sure if this is considered an across state lines transfer and needs to go through an FFL or not. I've never moved across a state line so I have no experience with it.

you need to check if your 9mm is on the "prohibited" list or "good to go list"; especially if its got high capacity magazines. as for the shotgun, I see no problems with it; unless its got some "evil features" if its imported/Saiga type but honestly; I don't see a problem?

You need to go to the CA state DOJ web site and read for your self the requirements

As said above your Pistol has to be one listed on the approved list. No Mags over 10 rounds. When my son registered his Pistol which he bought while home on leave at Christmas the fee was $19.00 BE sure you download the form and have it headed their way as you move. His was rejected twice for minor errors and each time you submit the form it costs $19.00.

The shotgun I believe can not have a pistol grip but read up on the Dept of Justice web site to be sure

you need to check if your 9mm is on the "prohibited" list or "good to go list";

As said above your Pistol has to be one listed on the approved list.