JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.

What is Better, MOA or MIL

• MOA is best, don't waste your time with MIL.

Votes: 18 60.0%
  • MIL is best, after all the Marines use it.

Votes: 12 40.0%

• Total voters
I've been an firearms enthusiast (Mainly Pistols) for over 30 years and in that time I've mainly focused my range time on pistols alone. Recently I've felt a need to be a better Rifleman, which won't be tough as I'm a novice at best.

Currently I'm looking at Rifles, caliber and such but the MOA & MIL discussion when buying a good scope has me a bit confused. I feel I understand MOA much better after a fair amount of reading.

So here's the question:

What is better MOA or MIL and which one should I learn and become proficient with?

It's just 2 different ways to skin a cat...

I would choose either if the scope I wanted was on sale etc.
Is one more used than the other? Curious as I'll be needing to learn this from those that are willing to share the knowledge. Is their one I should focus on?

Is one more used than the other? Curious as I'll be needing to learn this from those that are willing to share the knowledge. Is their one I should focus on?

If MOA is easier with 1/4" adjustments I would go that way.

MIL can get you closer to perfect with smaller adjustments (is my understanding - I could be wrong) so that might be better on an extreme long range gun.

If your new to Rifles it really shouldn't matter much until you can out shoot your gun/scope.

Whatever you intuitively work with. Just dont make my mistake by getting a reticle with MIL markings and MOA adjustment dials.

At 100 yards
  • 1 MIL = 3.6"
  • 1 MOA = 1.047" (1.141 @ 100m)
Vertical adjustments on scopes are typically 1/4MOA per click, or 0.1MIL per click.

What makes all the difference is getting to know your rifle, and trigger time.