The moa were nine species (in six genera) of flightless birds endemic to New Zealand. The two largest species, Dinornis robustus and Dinornis novaezelandiae, reached about 3.6 m (12 ft) in height with neck outstretched, and weighed about 230 kg (510 lb). When Polynesians settled New Zealand in CE 1280, the moa population was about 58,000.
Moa belong to the order Dinornithiformes, traditionally placed in the ratite group. However, their closest relatives have been found by genetic studies to be the flighted South American tinamous, once considered to be a sister group to ratites. The nine species of moa were the only wingless birds, lacking even the vestigial wings which all other ratites have. They were the dominant herbivores in New Zealand's forest, shrubland and subalpine ecosystems for thousands of years, and until the arrival of the Māori were hunted only by the Haast's eagle. Moa extinction occurred in CE 1440 ± 20 years, primarily due to overhunting by Māori.

View More On

    Recent Content Tagged With moa

  1. sprink
  2. ORhutner
  3. Iceman04503
  4. Gunfighter47
  5. 338
  6. acepilot55
  7. BiggerHammer
  8. BiggerHammer
  11. Floyd91
  13. candcschneider
  14. Erock
  15. 338
  16. bogeycentral
  19. roguebw
    Thread by: roguebw, Nov 19, 2017, 0 replies, in forum: Scope & Optic Classifieds