JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Im still fairly new to reloading and have never reloaded 223 but have a project in mind to develop a hunting load in the AR15 platform depending if its reasonable.

Is there a maximum projectile length that will work in an AR15 magazine for .223?

More specifically, this 73 grain Hammer Hunter projectile thats 1.155" long? Will it fit in the magazine?

It depends on the magazine. Some have a bit more internal room than others.

FWIW, those Hammer Hunters are outstanding performers. Make sure to check out their reloading forums, there is a lot of good information in there. They don't load like traditional bullets.

It depends on the magazine. Some have a bit more internal room than others.

FWIW, those Hammer Hunters are outstanding performers. Make sure to check out their reloading forums, there is a lot of good information in there. They don't load like traditional bullets.
In my case Im using the Magpul 10rd mag with their 5rd limiter insert to be legal in Oregon.

Would the Hammes be ok for a beginner reloader? I dont have much experience.

Max OAL for 223 is 2.260.

I load at 2.230 for 55gr, and have seen 2.250 in GI magazines.
What Im not certain about is if there are different projectile ogive shapes and lengths in hunting projectiles and I wasnt certain if they would fit in a standard magazine or if they were designed for bolt action rifles only.

Almost all 223 hunting rounds you can buy are set at almost max length for most mags. Best answer is, if it fits in the mag you plan to use than your good, if not make adjustments as needed.

Best) A butt-welded mag like PRI will give you the greatest COAL.
The 6.8 crowd claims 2.305" from the PRI mag.
Good) Lapped and spot welded like USGI
Worst) Polymer

Last Edited: