JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Based on lots of reading on various sites, I've gotten the impression this isn't a good idea, but no one has actually said don't do it. Is it a bad idea, and if so, why? If it matters, the brass in question is new, unfired LC. Thanks.

Dave

Based on lots of reading on various sites, I've gotten the impression this isn't a good idea, but no one has actually said don't do it. Is it a bad idea, and if so, why? If it matters, the brass in question is new, unfired LC. Thanks.

Dave

I haven't heard this, but then I'm pretty new to reloading.

What are the claimed downsides to using new brass? New brass wouldn't be fire formed to a chamber (significant if you only neck size reloads), but I'm not sure I see other differences between new and once (or more) fired brass.

Dave

How is one to get used brass for what they need unless they buy new and use it themselves? I don't see much used long gun brass for sale like handgun brass. I'd also say if you are a avid loader for several calibers of long gun that the best brass you could have is the brass you've used from new. As far as hand gun brass goes, a lot of people, including me, set themselves up in loading used brass, for the most part. I do know that new brass in roll crimped rounds is a real treat to load because it's all sized the same and won't need trimming.

I'll call BS on the "No new brass for reloading" story.

Like I said, guys, it's just an impression I've picked up, not sure why, but I haven't read anything that addresses it directly. Maybe I've just doing too much reading between the lines :rolleyes:. Appreciate the responses.

Dave