JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm very new to reloading. I reloaded some rounds for my 45-70 that should have given me about 1,800 fps. When I tried them out with my new chrono, it said they were going about 2,300 fps. This concerned me quite a bit. I tried 3 rounds to make sure it wasn't a fluke reading with the chrono. Then I took my .22 down and tried it out with 20 rounds. I'm fairly certain the chrono reading was correct after testing it with the .22 rounds. I'm using a Lee Loader and the dipper powder measure kit.

Here is the load I was using
405 gr. lead bullet
51.0 gr. H322 (measured 3.7 cc with the Lee powder dipper)
CCI No. 200 Primer
O.A.L. 2.535"
Starline Brass
Rifle: Handi Rifle with a 22 inch barrel

The Hodgdon info I got this load from said that for a 400 grain bullet the starting powder load was 50.0 grains which would produce about 1767 fps of velocity. The max load was 55.0 grains which would push it at 1984 fps from a 24 inch barrel. I'd expect to get lower velocities since my barrel is shorter but that is not the case.

I'm concerned that the chrono velocity was so far off from my expected velocity. I'd really rather not blow myself up. I'm not sure if the dippers are just that inaccurate. The velocities from the three shots were:

Does anyone have any ideas as to what happened? I'm really enjoying reloading so far but this was an unsettling surprise.

That is really strange as the amount in the dipper is usually much lower than what Lee says. A 3.7 dipper generally reads not too far off 3.7 grains. I've had a problem when I started with the dippers I was using a 2.5 and Lee said I was getting 4.0 grains of powder, the velocity was terrible and when a friend weighed the powder in the 2.5 dipper it was 2.7grains not 4.0 as Lee said. I know they do this for safety as well as legal reasons.