JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
As I am sure a lot of you have already heard, there was a fatal knife attack in Lake Oswego this week. The suspect is yet to be apprehended, and all they have is an artist sketch of the man for a lead. The man was outside the home of Lake Oswego residents, and seemingly at random, attacked and killed the man who lived there when he returned from a walk. The description is kind of weird, saying the man had a "head wrap". I am a LO resident, and as the man of the house I have always felt like it is my duty to protect my house and family(because it is). Random attacks without motive bring an entirely new security concern to me. While you always plan for the worst case scenario, and prepare accordingly, how can we prepare to defend ourselves from a man in the tree outside the house in broad day light with a machete, and not be completely paranoid. I long ago gave up on the notion that there were safe places that I need not carry my gun. After the recent attacks in Movie theaters, grocery stores, and a front-yard in broad day light, I am certain there is no safe place. As a Iraq and Afghan vet I have already found myself weary of crowds, strange things in the street, and constantly find myself evaluating people and things that seem out of place. I guess what I am getting at, is where do we drawn the line? Do I add more security, plan for the crazy machete wielding contingent? Or, do we all have to live with the fact that you simply can't plan for everything? I have 250lbs of fury alarms (dogs), security lights, a security system, and a well crafted and placed arsenal. All of that said, a machete wielding man 5 feet from me in the bushes by my front door would have caught me as unprepared as the next guy. Armed, but certainly on the defensive. Thoughts?