JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey all, I wanted to share a cool/interesting/disturbing story with you all. I am a teacher in Oregon public schools, so I am always on the look out for stories in Education.

Yesterday a video was released on Youtube and Liveleak that has since become "viral". The video depicts 10+ minutes of verbal abuse, intimidation and general savagery of an elderly bus monitor by a group of middle school students in middle-class, suburban, upstate Greece, New York. The video was, of course, taken by a student on the bus on his/her cell phone.

Here is the video: LiveLeak.com - Making The Bus Monitor Cry- MUST WATCH

I have seen videos of incredible barbarism on the internet: beheadings, suicides, war crimes, beatings, etc. I found this video harder to watch than many of the "violent" videos I've seen.

I could spend all day enunciating my hatred for these monsters, so I won't waste my time...

The silver lining!... literally hours after the video was posted yesterday (6/20/2012) a gentleman from Eastern Europe set up an online donation to "send Karen on the vacation of a lifetime". The donations goal was $5,000. Within an hour the goal was matched and surpassed. Within 5 hours of the video posting, when I discovered the hullabaloo, the donations were breaching $50,000. When I woke up this morning to head to class (I am getting my graduate degree) the amount had passed $100,000. As I type now at 2:45pm the amount has surpassed $300,000. The gentleman who started the donation has since changed all the account info directly to Karen's personal account and has transferred administrative rights to the donation site to Karen's sister.

<broken link removed> (the donation site)

I'll let you guys take it from here, but to some up what I'm getting at: Kids these days and the pockets of Humanity still left.