Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Jobs in the area

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by MetalMan, Aug 30, 2011.

1. MetalMan

MetalMan Tigard, OR New Member

I've been unemployed for about 3 years, been desperately job searching for at least 1 year for anything, retail, general labor, crap work. Couldn't even land an interview for all those supposed "jobs Americans won't do" (more like jobs off-limits to Americans). I just moved to Portland from the other side of the country and I graduated from college a few months ago. I have a Bachelor in Science in Mechanical Engineering Technology. I have not seen any entry level jobs out there for anything related to mechanical engineering or even just technicians.

So if anyone knows of a place that is willing to hire a recent college grad with an engineering degree, let me know. I am willing to go to anyplace within Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Wyoming, northern Colorado, Montana, maybe North Dakota.

2. nubus

nubus Guest

Look into wind farms. You may have to take a few specific classes, but it's a growing industry.
    Bonneville Power Administration and some other private companies are expanding in this area.
    A friend of mine just finished a 2-year program that landed him a $75k plus gig with a private power company.

3. PhysicsGuy

PhysicsGuy Corvallis, OR Resident Science Nut

Ive seen a few entry level engineering positions USAjobs.gov, and on Oregon's state job site in the past. Also expanding your professional network will help quite a bit, the previous jobs I have had have been granted to me on reputation alone.

4. wwkii

wwkii gilchrist oregon Active Member