JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I've been unemployed for about 3 years, been desperately job searching for at least 1 year for anything, retail, general labor, crap work. Couldn't even land an interview for all those supposed "jobs Americans won't do" (more like jobs off-limits to Americans). I just moved to Portland from the other side of the country and I graduated from college a few months ago. I have a Bachelor in Science in Mechanical Engineering Technology. I have not seen any entry level jobs out there for anything related to mechanical engineering or even just technicians.

So if anyone knows of a place that is willing to hire a recent college grad with an engineering degree, let me know. I am willing to go to anyplace within Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Wyoming, northern Colorado, Montana, maybe North Dakota.

Look into wind farms. You may have to take a few specific classes, but it's a growing industry.
Bonneville Power Administration and some other private companies are expanding in this area.
A friend of mine just finished a 2-year program that landed him a $75k plus gig with a private power company.

Ive seen a few entry level engineering positions USAjobs.gov, and on Oregon's state job site in the past. Also expanding your professional network will help quite a bit, the previous jobs I have had have been granted to me on reputation alone.