JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
This is my first time reloading. I finally got to making a set of 10 9MM dummy rounds. All 10 rounds chamber and eject great. I was aiming for 1.130 OAL and
.376 on my crimp. These are the numbers I come up with. so how did I do? The number I picked was based on the average of factory ammo, such as Remington, Federal, Winchester. These are using Berry's plated 115 GR and I will be staring with a low load of 4.3 and working my way up to 4.7 Gr of Winchester 231 powder. I plan on making 6-8rounds of each grain as I step up.

1.125 .374
1.129 .375
1.131 .376
1.130 .374
1.133 .373
1.133 .376
1.136 .377
1.133 .376
1.127 .373
1.134 .377

Typical loaded cartridge length quality standards I typically observe are +/- .003" and that's with god knows what kind of reload brass customers send in.

The important thing you should take away from this, is make yourself a little card that has the pertainant details for each cartridge you load.. bullet wt, OAL, powder wt, brass type (headstamp), primer type, primer depth etc. Having that kind of data is handy if lets say you have a load you really like, but components become unavailable and you switch to something else for a while. Maybe when those components come back you would want to switch back makes it a lot easier than re-inventing the wheel. If you want to be really anal, don't forget to chronograph 10 rounds and write the velocity data along with the standard deviation and extreme spread on the card :)

This is my first time reloading. I finally got to making a set of 10 9MM dummy rounds. All 10 rounds chamber and eject great. I was aiming for 1.130 OAL and