JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hi all!

I am a current student at Oregon State University (Go Beavs), and reside in Portland for the summers. I am new to the site and wanted to introduce myself. I am a California native, raised in Bend, and went to high school in Portland. I like to think of myself as an Oregonian now. Anyway, I am a first generation gun owner in my (immediate) family, and look forward to sharing my love of the sport down.

My current collection is small (poor college student), but I hope to build it up soon!
Currently I own:
  • Remington 870 28" super mag (Of course, who doesn't)
  • Bushmaster XM15 w/Palmetto arms upper, magpul furniture, and a vortex strikefire II red dot
  • Mosin Nagant 91/59 carbine
Also looking for suggestions on my first handgun. I am a huge fan of 1911's, and have been looking into the best brands for these without spending too much money. Any advice is greatly appreciated! Also interested in the basics, Glocks, Berettas, etc.

Thanks!

Welcome from the great State of Jefferson.

I'd suggest spending some time handling assorted handguns. See what feels good in hand. For SD it's better to go with the largest caliber that you can handle comfortably. Shot placement is what you're after. A bunch of fast misses don't compare to one good hit. Take some time, read some reviews, try and shoot a few. Some ranges rent guns, so give that a go too. Good luck and welcome.

Hi all!

I am a current student at Oregon State University (Go Beavs), and reside in Portland for the summers. I am new to the site and wanted to introduce myself. I am a California native, raised in Bend, and went to high school in Portland. I like to think of myself as an Oregonian now. Anyway, I am a first generation gun owner in my (immediate) family, and look forward to sharing my love of the sport down.