JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Below is what I received. This guy doesn't say anything about being anti lead Bullets and that just … to put it it nicely, is lacking in transparency. I googled his name and this is a major issue of his.
Also, I can't figure out how I "opted" in.
Here is the email:

"Hello,
You are being offered an opportunity to participate in research because you are a hunter with a tag for buck deer in 2023, and you opted in to support research when you purchased your Oregon hunting license.

My name is Leland Brown, and I am a researcher on the project. Our team would like to invite you to participate in a survey that records the outcome of your big game harvest (e.g., a successful hunt). Gathering information on species, cartridge, range, and animal behavior is important to understand best practices for effectively and humanely harvesting wildlife. Currently, there is no consensus on "best practices" and increased knowledge will benefit both hunters and managers.

If you choose to participate in the survey, each entry will document the harvest of an individual animal (deer, elk, black bear, etc.). It is important to record the necessary data in the field during or as soon after the harvest as possible to make sure the data is as accurate. Please follow these steps to record your data:

1. Print and review the linked data sheet to familiarize yourself with the data to record in the field.
  2. Bring the data sheet on your hunt and record the data during and immediately after harvesting your big game animal.
  3. When back in service use the online survey data entry platform (link below) and follow the directions to submit the data online.