JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So I think for my first AR I am going to pick up one of <broken link removed> bad boys from DPMS, specifically the DPMS Predator bull 20. They are a little heavier than I had hoped but I suppose that wont matter too much since I am going to put a bipod on it right away. My question is what barrel length would you guys suggest. I was thinking 20" is the best way to go due to better mobility than the 24" but was curious what you guys thought about the 24" versions. I'm pretty new to this whole thing and don't know a lot about this stuff, slowly learning. I'm heading to the gun show here in Portland and am hoping I can find one of these or perhaps a Rock River Predator Pursuit. Cheers!

Yeah after doing some more reading I'm wondering if maybe I should just go with a 16". From what I have read the difference in accuracy between the 20" and the 16" isn't huge, especially since I plan on running a free floating handguard. Would you guys advise against a 16" for this type of shooting, I'm thinking the extra mobility and lower weight might be nice.

I use 2 different guns for dogs. I have a savage 24" heavy barrel and an dpms ar with 18" varmint barrel. Both work well, but will probably switch the 24" barrel out for a 26". I don't worry too much about the weight since most the time when calling dogs you sit stationary and call them to you.

Just depends how far you want to carry it and how far in distance you want to shoot. For overall use a 16 is fine especially for the close in shots you will have more often than the long ones....