JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I recently moved here to Oregon this summer from Georgia and I am trying my best to understand yalls regulations/ tag system. I have never used the tag and points system before and was curious as to the best way to get a tag and acquire these points. Do you have to pay to apply for a tag? Can you get more than one tag? I didnt hunt this season (a first for me) because the out of state licenses were so expensive. Also a first time user, what would my best bet be to get a tag for deer/elk? Like what unit would I have the best chance at getting a permit? Also, if I were to get a landowners permission to hunt, would I have to have a tag for that particular area or would a regular hunting license suffice? This whole system is just so different from back home where you can walk into a store, buy a license and kill 12 deer (if you wish) virtually anywhere you want/get permission. Or if anybody would like a hunting partner/ deer dragger pm me lol. I love to hunt just about everything. Any help or advise is greatly appreciated! Thanks for your time!

Since you're in Bend, I figure you'll hunt Eastern Oregon. most units have a number of tags per species. And yes you have to pay to apply for tags that are controlled/draw only units. Which is majority of eastern oregon. Looking at the Regs, you'll have number of tags per unit/species and how many 1st choice applicants. If there were more tags than applicants, that means people who chose that unit as choice #2 might get that tag and so on. When you don't get your first choice you automatically get a point saver for that species, which will help you to get some better tags/units next year.
The more points the better the units and better odds drawing.