JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
So if a total newb had a projected 6 month build with a total budget of $1500, where would you start?

3 month 750 budget?

Longer? Low-end vs. high-end (e.g., Springfield vs Les Baer 1911)? What's the most single important component; that you would put the bulk into, the receiver (naturally you need everything else)?

Usage: mostly 3-gun, plinking, possibly varmint (last choice).

Books? Websites? More clarifications?

Thanks!

What's the most single important component; that you would put the bulk into, the receiver (naturally you need everything else)?
Build as in building the upper (requires specialized tools, not a beginner task) or buying a complete upper? Thats where I'd put the most of the money into as thats where the accuracy and most of the reliability will come from.
I'd go as high end as you can afford. Noveske and LMT are great. BCM is great on a smaller budget.
The lower receiver (the part that according to the ATF is the "firearm" and will need to be purchased through a FFL) is less critical as long as it's mil-spec so everything will fit like it's supposed to.

Wow. Thanks for the insights. Obviously I'm a newb-- so thankful for pointing in the right direction. Always thought a solid frame would be the start, but had that wrong.

I guess there's never a standard go-to for anything, as in, "yeah, everyone starts with X, and actually Y will cost just a bit more but worth future growth."

So many options, no real clear path. As usual. Thanks!

Is there a good FAQ?

So if a total newb had a projected 6 month build with a total budget of $1500,