JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I have a Hornady GS-1500 scale that has a scale resolution of .1grains. Accuracy is less than that, =/- 0.2grain. That's a potential error span of .4 grains. I'm loading Titegroup in 38 Special, which is my entry into reloading. The specified load for my combination is from 3.2 to 3.8 grains. Clearly since the span from min to max is 0.6 grains, and the accuracy is +/-0.2 grains, I don't have enough room to work comfortably. In order to get more accuracy and resolution, I need a lower capacity scale, with my pan being about 100 grains right away.

What digital scales out there aren't unnecessarily expensive, have a second digit (I used to be an industrial scale technician a long time ago, and always want one more digit than the stated number) and have a range suitable for reloading pistol loads? I didn't see this problem coming, although I should have. It took me awhile to find a scale that was affordable and did what I wanted, but screwed this one up.

I have the same scale and don't like it for powder. Its ok for cases and bullets but i always fall back on mechanical. I don't have the funds for a good electronic scale yet. I use check weights and a Lee scale to check my RCBS powder measure. The measure is within about a 1/10 with ball powder. Pistol powder makes me nervous so i don't push the limits, for that matter i don't go within .3 of max unless i weigh every charge. With scales i think "you get what you pay for" holds true thus, i'm still rocking the teeter-totter. Check weights made me sleep better too.
Best of luck,