JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
get yourself an rcbs .30 cal collet bullet puller.
This is what I use but some may recommend the 'hammer' style puller. Personally I have no experience with this style but it is less expensive than the collet style and I have heard they work ok. The collet style will require buying separate 'collets' for different calibers but is 'quiet' to use, allows you to use your press and is essentially a lifetime investment. The hammer style is plastic and will no doubt be prone to wear and breakage but It's not like it will be used everyday so choose wisely.

I have the hammer style, & it's OK for pistol rounds, or a few rifle cartridges to pull, but for a rifle round that is firmly seated, they're a pain in the butt. I share with my reloading buddies when I want to purchase a new collet, & we spread the cost.

I have used my RCBS hammer type puller now for 25+ years I haven't noticed any wear and its sure working like new. Granted I have never pulled 1000 sealed crimped .308 NATO bullets with it. But if you follow RVTECH's advise and push the bullet down a few mm before pulling you will have broken the seal and opened the crimp. In which case the bullet will pop out very easy.

And just to be clear I bang my RCBS Hammer puller down on a small steel anvil that does not give. And I have swung it very hard a LOT of times over the years with no damage to the hammer.

Thanks for the helpful info, I have a hammer type puller and an anvil, I will try one round as suggested to see if it works, but as a person that has swung that hammer many times to get one bullet out I'm opting for the collet style if the hammer fails!