JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm new to bottle neck reloading. But have done straight wall pistol for a couple of years. I have 10+ times on my 45 Colt, 4 on 454 Cassull and 10mm. (Starline)

I'm just curious how much I can expect from 308 cases. I realize it depends on a lot of factors. But I'd just would like to get some sample numbers.

Also, what brands would you recommend and where do you get it a good price - wish **- had it...

TIA

Life will, as you already mentioned depend upon a lot of factors, mainly on two:
How good the brass was to begin with and how hard you work it in the shooting and reloading process.

Best brands in order as rated by quality/price/long life.
1--Lapua
2--Lapua
3--Lapua
4--Norma because it is so expensive.......
All the major match/BR/F-class/ parts and supply retailers will have both.

personally ive reloaded some winchester head stamp 308 cases 4-5 times but if you run hotter than 2500fps which i do for my wifes hunting rounds,the brass stretches pretty fast.so if there just target loads keep them moderate use plenty of lube when resizing and just pay attention,i inspect every case i reload very carefully.its no fun pulling a split case out of your chamber.remember to wear those safety glasses;),i trim all rifle cases after i resize its amazing how much some cheap cases stretch.other than that go have some fun,watch for pressure signs.

I just bought 100 Lapua's at Cabelas for $84, even though I have 200 I currently rotate and >500 sitting in a box. I suspect the Lapua will last 8-10 reloads. Based on my experience reloading them for 338, they are that good. I've also been impressed by RWS and Norma brass. Others I have done: Lake City, Rem, Win, Federal, Hornady and S&B. I get an odd one that I don't recognize once in a while.