JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
so i found a old box at that estate sale that had a bag of a few hundred 308 bullets and by that time they were ready to deal so i took it home. problem is i'm new to reloads and have no idea about the point of the dbl cannelure. So i was hoping that someone could school me on why there are two?
here is a pic.
20171023_115208.jpg

I'm just guessing but it looks like a homemade cannelure to me. Again just guessing I'd say someone didn't like the first one and did a second one. I don't know of any purpose for having two. Of course, each will provide a different seating depth. But, neither one looks deep enough to be really useful.

I found this posting about double cannelure bullets. I am not espousing that this is correct, just some info.

They are for loading in either 30-06 or 7.62X51...you have to check for overall length of the rounds as to which application is for which round.
Certain MG like the 1919A4 are rather critical about overall lengths so that they feed right

On a side note some of the stuff I got was mis labeled and I got some magnum primers from cci and federal as well as some fiocchi primers that say all brass shells #645B. I'm guessing the fiocchi is for shotgun, so I'll just store em till I start reloading shotgun. My question is can i just use magnum primers like normal or only in magnum loads?

Last Edited:
It doesn't look like it was pulled (milsurp).. if it is/was military, it may be to hold the waterproofing lacquer better and or increase neck grip.
I never crimp any of my bottleneck military cartridges anyway.. most all bullets don't even have a cannellure.
I'd just seat them as per a loading manual/your rifle.

My question is can i just use magnum primers like normal or only in magnum loads?