JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I recently found out that my mother in law likes to mix drinks with whiskey, now and then. I think it would be a great Christmas gift for her that she could enjoy all year. I do not know anything about whiskeys, other than I bought a bottle of Dry Fly Wheat Whiskey a while back. That and I know that it is made in barrels.... So a novice here wanting to get a good gift for someone.

Anyone have any good whiskey suggestions for a gift?

If she likes the "straight-up" whiskey, all of the above are excellent suggestions for a gift. Gentleman Jack is also another good one.

I like sweeter. I like the Black Velvet Toasted Caramel, or the R&R (Rich & Rare) Caramel. In a bucket, 1 ice cube, mmmmm....... yummy. :D

All whiskey worth note is made in barrels. All whiskey starts out white/clear and gets it's color and much of its flavor profile from the charred oak barrels it is stored/aged in. That being said I would maybe find out what type of whiskey she likes and get a higher end bottle from the same distillery that has been aged longer. I like all sorts of whiskies from some of the canadian styles with rye in the forefront to Irish like Jameson. I also enjoy many of the peaty smoky scotches that I usually can't afford like Caol ila, Lagavulin and such. I mostly drink this high end stuff neet as it should be. Some of the others I will pour over a few rocks or with a splash of soda or water depending on my mood. But remember fish fornicate in water and it is a damn poor mixer at best. o_O

If it's being mixed, it really doesn't matter. If it's gonna be tasted straight up or on ice, then the sky is the limit. A really nice and easy Rye (Canadian) is Pendleton 1910.

Or any cheap Canadian for mixed drinks. Black Velvet, R&R, even Crown Royal, relatively inexpensive, and can be mixed or straight.