JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
As I mentioned in my recent new member introduction thread, I'm quite new to the firearms community. Before becoming part of this community, I can say I was fairly oblivious to the issues facing gun owners. Case in point: I have no recollection whatsoever of the events and discussions leading up to, nor the actual passing of the 1994 Federal AWB. As a result of my inexperience, I have a difficult time judging the current situation in OR and WA, except to think back to spring of last year when, as a newly minted gun owner, I was horrified at the thought of losing a large part of my new-found sense of empowerment and freedom to Oregon's IP-43 ballot initiative. I was in a bit of a panic at the time, spent a fair amount of money, and bought a lot of the things I thought I might later want, but not be able to get. After IP-43 was defeated, however, and the dust settled, I felt as if I had perhaps overreacted. I am wondering now whether the same scenario will play out this spring, or will it be different this time? My feeling is that the current situation is more serious, and there is a threat of losing significant rights to the legislative onslaught that has already begun. Yet there seems to me to be no discernible organized-resistance effort. Or, again, is it my lack of experience leading me to believe this is the case?