JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm new to reloading and am looking for a clean powder to reload 9mm, 40 S&W and 10mm. I'm also looking for a clean powder for 5.56mm. Any suggestions? Thanks

On a side note, what other attributes should I consider in a powder?

I use alot of longshot, and it's reasonably clean. HS-6 is very dirty. I wasn't very happy with the blue dot.

Varget for the 5.56 is what I use. H335 is the origional MIL 5.56 powder and is a champ.

I was considering HS-6 for pistol. Saying it's "very dirty" makes me want to reconsider. Plus it looks like it takes about 50% more powder for the same bullet over other powders. The other Hodgdon powder I was considering was Hodgdon Universal or TiteGroup. What's your take on those?

I've found Power Pistol to be exceptionally clean and it fits well in the pistol calibers you mentioned.

As for .223 consider one of the powders developed specifically for that round. H-335 is one but can be a little "sooty". I prefer AA2230. If you load LOTS of this caliber look for some 844 that comes from pulled down military ammo that's being recycled. Often sells for as little as $85 per 8#. At that price the hazmat fee and shipping is more than covered with the savings.

All that said, clean burning of a powder also depends on other factors. Powder charges, amount of crimp, bullet weight and even firearm can all affect the way the powder burns. In other words, one mans clean burning powder can another's nasty mess.

I'm new to reloading and am looking for a clean powder to reload 9mm, 40 S&W and 10mm. I'm also looking for a clean powder for 5.56mm. Any suggestions? Thanks

On a side note, what other attributes should I consider in a powder?

I load Accurate Arms #9 in my 10mm. Very clean burning. Pretty good performance too. 1250 fps with a 180gr Hornady XTP.