Quantcast
  1. Sign up now and join over 35,000 northwest gun owners. It's quick, easy, and 100% free!

Waiting period before applying for Washington concealed pistol license?

Discussion in 'Legal & Political Archive' started by rutilate, Sep 14, 2014.

  1. rutilate

    rutilate Vancouver and Surrounds Active Member

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    80
    Just moved here from Massachusetts and was ready to get the concealed pistol permit and discovered the proof of 90 day residence clause. Do they verify this or is it like the driver's license 30 day clause that was summarily ignored?
     
  2. Mark W.

    Mark W. Silverton, OR Bronze Supporter Bronze Supporter

    Messages:
    5,776
    Likes Received:
    4,965
    Why on Earth would you start out applying for a CHL by breaking the law? if they find out it would end your ability to get one at all.
     
  3. The Heretic

    The Heretic Oregon Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,094
    Likes Received:
    6,881
    ??

    What are you talking about?

    He made no mention of breaking the law. :rolleyes:
     
  4. Mark W.

    Mark W. Silverton, OR Bronze Supporter Bronze Supporter

    Messages:
    5,776
    Likes Received:
    4,965
    I took the post as wanting to know if he could get away with ignoring the 90 waiting period. If that wasn't his intention for asking the question I apologize.
     
  5. rutilate

    rutilate Vancouver and Surrounds Active Member

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    80
    ^^ Agreed. The DMV driver license application says you need to show proof of 30 days residency. However, I walked in on my third day, gave them my address, paid my money, and walked out with a fuzzy printed license with a shiny one to follow in two weeks. If the handgun license follows suit, I'd just as soon apply now than wait 90 days.
     
  6. soberups

    soberups Newberg Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    1,398
    And the flip side to this is that you probably only have 60 days from the date of moving to change your drivers license and plates over to Washington ones. I don't see any point in making a person wait 30 days if their only intention is to comply with the law as quickly as possible.
     
  7. The Heretic

    The Heretic Oregon Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,094
    Likes Received:
    6,881
    If they simply didn't ask when you got your drivers license, then they overlooked the issue.

    I would not count on that happening with your CHL application and personally I would just wait - if there is a hitch because you didn't wait, then you will probably be waiting a lot longer than if you simply waited 90 days in the first place.

    Also, with the drivers license, they want you to convert your car plates also, and there is the tax and so on. In WA state, driving with out of state plates and a WA state drivers license will get a big fat fine on top of having to get the plates and paying the tax - so they encourage you to get the drivers license ASAP - in that case, I think the waiting period is probably more a time limit.

    FWIW, I waited years before I switched my plates, but then they got it back the last year I lived there; I bought a truck in Oregon, paid over $1K in tax in WA state when I brought it to WA state, then the next year moved to Oregon.

    I still strongly prefer the sales tax though - the income tax here was a bit of a shock - they take almost ten percent of my income! :eek:
     
  8. MarkAd

    MarkAd Port Orchard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,422
    Likes Received:
    617
    I have a novel ideal. call your local sheriff's office and ask the people who do the permitting about it.
     
  9. Tony617

    Tony617 Washington State Bronze Supporter Bronze Supporter

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    36
    Do you need to make an appointment still? I believe I called in May and I could not get in until middle of July for my application and finger printing.
     
  10. MarkAd

    MarkAd Port Orchard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,422
    Likes Received:
    617
    Kitsap county does not need appointments. I don't know how your county would do it.
     
  11. mjbskwim

    mjbskwim Salmon,Idaho Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    10,414
    Likes Received:
    7,667
    Pretty sure you will need PUD,phone or any government type bills to show you have lived here for 90 days.Rent or such may work
    Military "whateveryoucallthem" papers (mos?) showing that the govment sent you here works also
     
  12. Brutus57

    Brutus57 Skagit County Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,430
    Likes Received:
    5,694
    Here's a question....what if a person moves to a different county in the same state. Do they just renew a current CPL to the new county when it expires or do they need to inform the new county the have a CPL shortly after the move?

    Brutus Out
     
  13. mjbskwim

    mjbskwim Salmon,Idaho Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    10,414
    Likes Received:
    7,667
    You just renew and change the address if you want.Well you renew in the municipality that you live in.City or county.So if you go to the new city/county cpl spot,you will give them your new address
    But you don't have to do anything until it expires
     
  14. ST Rider

    ST Rider Hubbard, OR Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    MarkAd and Tony617 each have valid points.
    Rutilate, call your local Sheriff's Office and verify with them. Some counties allow you to walk in for an appointment and some book their appointments 6 or 8 weeks out. Maybe you can schedule your appointment in advance to coincide with the fulfillment of your 90 day residency period.

    Brutus57, here in OR the licenses are issued by the county. If you move to another county, you are supposed to get a license from your new county and turn the old one in to your former county. If you've moved, I'd check with your new Sheriff's Office right away so that you have it straight from the horse's mouth.
     
  15. EMNofSeattle

    EMNofSeattle Kitsap Active Member

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    53
    There is no need for appt in WA, the law requires the sheriff to accept your application during normal business hours.....
     
    Michael Js likes this.
  16. Brutus57

    Brutus57 Skagit County Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,430
    Likes Received:
    5,694
    Thanks, I am less than 2 year's into this current one so I'll chat with the county when it is time to renew. See if they say anything when I change voter registration.
    Brutus out
     
    Caveman Jim likes this.
  17. solv3nt

    solv3nt Portland Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,914
    Likes Received:
    1,298
    RCW 9.41.070
    (1) The chief of police of a municipality or the sheriff of a county shall within thirty days after the filing of an application of any person, issue a license to such person to carry a pistol concealed on his or her person within this state for five years from date of issue, for the purposes of protection or while engaged in business, sport, or while traveling. However, if the applicant does not have a valid permanent Washington driver's license or Washington state identification card or has not been a resident of the state for the previous consecutive ninety days, the issuing authority shall have up to sixty days after the filing of the application to issue a license. The issuing authority shall not refuse to accept completed applications for concealed pistol licenses during regular business hours.

    http://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=9.41.070
     
    206thsense and Michael Js like this.
  18. MarkAd

    MarkAd Port Orchard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,422
    Likes Received:
    617
    There you go.According to the RCW you can get one now since you have a WA DL.
    The use of the OR statement means you only have to meet one of the conditions.
     
  19. deen_ad

    deen_ad Vancouver, WA Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    1,310
    < Why they don't have school shootings in Israel.
    Notice the long gun slung over the teachers shoulder?

    Try paying the sales/use tax on a $400,000 motorhome at almost 10% plus working in OR!!

    Deen
    NRA Life Member, Benefactor Level
    "Defender of Freedom" award
    NRA Golden Eagle member


    "Having a gun is like a parachute, if you need one and don't have it you may never need it again"
     
  20. mjbskwim

    mjbskwim Salmon,Idaho Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    10,414
    Likes Received:
    7,667
    I love it when people brag....er.... complain about how much tax they had to pay on their $400k motorhomes
    hahaha