JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
It's been 15 years since my last automobile purchase and I've never bought one specifically in Washington. I'll soon be spending around $10,000-15,000 cash, probably in a private deal. I'm in the market for a strong towing capacity 4x4 pickup from around late 1990s to early 2000s in excellent condition. Probably diesel. I've never owned a diesel. This is for a pending long distance out-of-state move, where I will be hauling a lot of personal property in a cargo trailer. Also advice in towing, capacity, towing trailers, etc. since I have no experience there.

Any and all relevant advice from shopping, buying, licensing, what to look for specifically in brands and models, or tips on if you know of one for sale are all appreciated.

Editing this to narrow the discussion. I've considered and will not be:
* Hiring movers
* Using a POD
* Renting a truck or trailer from Pensky or Uhaul.

The reasons are not particularly important, but basically I want a truck, I've wanted a truck, I have the resources to get a truck... and renting will cost somewhere around 1/3 to 1/5 the price of a truck so it makes better sense to just take the plunge now and invest in a truck vs. renting. So please no more suggestions on PODs, renting a truck, hiring people, etc. These have been considered and not suggestions I'll entertain.

Thanks!

Last Edited:
Early ford 7.3 power stroke come to mind, you'd be hard pressed to find a 4 x 4 Cummins for that money though.

Edit to add: When I bought mine, I found much better deals in Oregon, so I went there.