JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey there. I have done so few transfers I am unsure about this.

If I meet a buyer at an FFL dealer and do a legal transfer, and he is a WA resident but does NOT have a CPL, will he be subject to a wait period before he can take the handgun home? If so, how long is it?

Thanks

Without the CPL there will be a waiting period. It's been too long since I had to mess with that so don't remember how long. Contact the FFL and they'll be able to tell you.

This was the reason I got my CPL in WA in the first place. Cash and carry (when I was a WA resident).

Depends on the county processing it. It only took two days in skamania county. I would say 3 to 5 days. The sheriffs office has 72 hours to process the paperwork for release.

Last Edited:
I figured there is a wait. I'm wondering if it's 3, 5 or 10 days.

It "used to be" 5 days BUT, and here is the huge but. The point was the buyers CLEO has to be notified. This has been around here since I was a kid. The problem is the CLEO of course does not actually have time to do this. Some person working in an office does this. During the last great panic one co worker went to a LGS to buy. Did not have his CPL but had put in for it. They sent him away. Told him wait till you get the CPL. At that time it was taking a month or more to get the OK from the CLEO because of the backlog. So now panic is over but it's still a crap shoot as to how long. Buyer here would have to be OK with paying for gun and intending to leave it at the FFL. Then wait till the CLEO buys off. Well worth getting a CPL here even if you have no intention of caring for just this reason.

Depends on the county processing it. It only took two days in skamania county. I would say 3 to 5 days. The sheriffs office has 72 hours to process the paperwork for release.