JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
I'm relatively new to shooting (bought my first gun 4 years ago) and am wanting to start getting into improving my skills through instruction.

I've taken a basic handguns skills class at the Clackamas PSTC and the action range cert class at TCGC where i'm a member. Shot at a couple IPSC matches.

That's the paltry extent of my training.

I'm wanting to take both a defensive handgun series of courses and a carbine one....I'll start with the handgun one first. I see that OFA offers both and was thinking of signing up for some of their 2010 courses.....just wondering if there's any other schools/instructors in the area that I should consider as well.

My friend is a proponent of Jim Jacobe and I took my CCW class with him but that's it...anyone trained under him?

I know Thunder Ranch is world reknowned but I've read they're more geared towards the seasoned shooter....is this true?

Any suggestions based on first hand experience is much appreciated.

Thanks.

Jim Jacobe is definitely an interesting teacher, I've taken a class with him. OFA offers a wide variety of classes with a good balance of hands on and classroom time. Thunder Ranch definitely has a great reputation, but your wallet will be very light after a class there.

Jim Jacobe is definitely an interesting teacher, I've taken a class with him. OFA offers a wide variety of classes with a good balance of hands on and classroom time. Thunder Ranch definitely has a great reputation, but your wallet will be very light after a class there.

Can you shed any light on your experience with Jacobe? Pros/Cons of a class with him vs. OFA?

Jim is a very by the book NRA Instructor with many years of training under his belt.
He has worked with a lot of people in the field and has a good rep.