JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Agreed about 4 way stops.

You'd hate getting into or leaving Bend on Highway 20 between Bend and Sisters.
Have that T shirt... They make a certain amount of sense in Europe (though NOT on the highways) due to restricted lane size and the more organic road layout in many areas. Here they are an annoyance and ODOT is in absolute love with them.

I'll admit I have limited experience with the round a bouts. HWY 14 camas/Washougal. And ran into a couple of them out around Verbort, between forest Grove and HWY 26. They were far apart and those, to me, were better than stopping at a light. Seeing how our road department heads here are such complete fools and morons? We have hundreds of traffic signals in potland/MultCo and very few are traffic actuated. Which, of course, frequently leaves you stopped, idling precious fuel away, whit no cars in the cross lanes.
I think there are places where they would work well though.
I'll try to find the animation, for some reason it's not on the ODT YT page. It's done very slowly and with just a few cars and it's incredibly difficult to follow even from a bird's eye view. At rush hour it's going to be a nightmare. Borland Rd/Wilamette Falls drive is essentially an extension of Highway 43 and is used a lot to take pressure off of I-205 during the parking lot rush hour. Traffic then jumps back on I-205 at the bridge or uses the old Oregon City bridge if they are headed that way.

It's going to be a nightmare.