JavaScript is disabled
Our website requires JavaScript to function properly. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser settings before proceeding.
Reactions
Hey all I have a quick question.

I am relatively new to the ar platform and was wanting to get an sbr, but I wanted to get a legal 16" ar first and apply for stamp so I can use it until said stamp is approved.

i wanted to make a colt commando type rifle and was wondering what colt would I start with to have sbr later. Or if there is a better option then colt.

Do I go pistol route and put stock on it when sbr is approved or should I go rifle and then customize it to sbr length.

I really like the look of the built in carry handle ars.

Anyone have advice or opinions on best route?

Thanks

Jp

Go the pistol route butt stock is cheaper than a barrel.
I've got 3 SBR's a 12.5" .223, a 11.3" 6.8. and a 8.5" 300BLK.

Here is an 11.5" 5.56 AR pistol that I built from an 80% lower receiver, and the thing ROCKS! There are so many excellent pistol "arm brace" designs out there now, and the BATFE just recently issued a letter changing their position on shouldering "arm braces" saying it's legal to do. Go the pistol route so that you can travel interstate without having to get BATFE approval, you can legally carry it concealed on your person or in your vehicle with your CHL/CPL, as well as go into states that "legally" banded SBR's.... options, options.

IMG_3863.JPG

Last Edited:
Man that pistol is nice! Something like that is what I wanted to do.
Is it better to build one or buy an already made one?
Any brands to look for vs avoid?

Thanks!

As to your question... it depends. It depends what you're into, what your "able" to do, etc. I'm not at all hung up on what roll-mark is on an AR receiver, as almost all the upper/lower receivers are made by only a handful of forges for the various manufacturers.